Mike camped out on Kilimanjaro...

So our bachelors are all pretty dashing, right? But one lovely Mr Mike McGuire has proven himself especially eligible. Not only has he recently climbed Mount Kilimanjaro for Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital  in Crumlin (where he passed Stellar Point on the way to the top BTW) but he’s also running two, yep two, marathons in the coming weeks for the charity. Oh yeah and he ran this itty bitty 65km Adventure Race while he was at it.

Mike says he’s more than just a bit petrified about the double marathon leg of his journey, (Chicago on October 8th and Dublin, October 25th) having never run a marathon before, so why the bejaysus is he doing all this? “I was kindly taken around Crumlin Children’s Hospital to see where the money is needed.  While walking through, I met a 2 year old girl called Lucy who was undergoing her first chemotherapy session that day.  Since then, I have been in touch with her parents through the hospital and they have agreed to let her be my little motivator through my last few challenges.  The way I see it, if she (and her parents) have the bravery to go into a hospital every few days to go through the hell that is chemo, I should have the balls to go out running (I hate running, it’s the devils work) when I don’t want to.” 

Well isn’t he just dreamy? If you want to support Mike and his campaign to raise funds for Lucy, and the other children at Crumlin Children’s Hospital, you can register your donations here… http://www.cmrf.org/SponsorshipManager/Usr_EventDonation.asp?EventId=748 (100% of donations will go towards the charity, as Mike has covered his own training and travel costs.) 

Mike and his fellow climbers at Stellar Point *Mike says to excuse the wardrobe mishap, " I had ordered gear in from the manufacturer and when it arrived, the XL stuff made me look like Tom Hanks in “BIG”. As a result, I had to take the only jacket available, along with my turquoise snowboarding pants. The purple hat is the icing on the cake, I love this photo it looks like serious climbers were posing for a photo when a clown crept in."

 Don’t forget to vote for Mike and the other bachelors n our Bachelor of the Year competition. You could win the chance to meet all the lovely gents at our exclusive Birthday Party, and a gorgeous Tissot watch to boot. The deets are all in the October issue of STELLAR and voting closes on October 13th.